I can’t eat whole nuts, so I generally just don’t eat nuts at all because there’s a fine line between what I can eat and what will make me sick (I’m not anaphylactic, but it’s not pleasant).  What I can get away with (luckily) is eating foods that may contain traces of nuts.  However, I know that this is not the case for some – and I sympathise entirely.

It’s also really hard to get rocky road not just without nuts, but without peanuts (the worst kind if you have allergies).  And I LOVE rocky road.

So, this is my relatively simple version of make at home (with whatever you like) rocky road.

Ingredients

  • 400g plain chocolate (I use Cadbury’s Dairy Milk or Dream – depending on if I’m making white or milk chocolate rocky road)
  • 1 cup chopped up marshmallows, or mini marshmallows
  • 1 cup chopped up ‘other ingredients’*
  • 1 cup chopped up ‘other ingredients’*

* Now, this is where it can get interesting.  You are limited PURELY by your imagination and your taste.  If you are making this for someone else, take into consideration what they might like.  You don’t even have to use marshmallows if you don’t want – just three to four cups of ‘other ingredients’.  My list of ‘other ingredients’ that I have used in rocky road before includes:

  • Maltesers
  • Raspberry lollies
  • Clinkers
  • Soft jubes
  • Sour gummi worms
  • Fruit tingles
  • Popping candy (you won’t need a cup of this, just 1/2 cup)
  • Sherbert (again, just 1/2 cup)
  • Honeycomb
  • Turkish delight
  • Hard caramels
  • Pretzels
  • Salt/plain chips (not hot chips – packet chips, or crisps)
  • Peppermint crisp
  • Mars
  • Cookie dough
  • Plain, sweet biscuit
  • Oreos

Also, I know I said ‘nut-free’ earlier, but you can add also things like:

  • Peanut brittle
  • Almonds
  • Macadamias
  • Snickers

Method

  1. Bring a large (wide) saucepan of water to the boil.
  2. Add a glass bowl over the top of the saucepan, leaving a gap for the steam (I usually shove a wooden spoon down the side of the bowl to enable this – the glass bowl will still sit there).  Keep the heat on medium beneath the saucepan so the water doesn’t cool.
  3. Add chocolate to the glass bowl and stir with a spatula until melted.
  4. If you are using chocolate coated ingredients (such as maltesers) add these first so that the chocolate can melt off them and add to the rest of the melted chocolate.
  5. Add your remaining (non-chocolate) ingredients and stir lightly.
  6. Pour into silicon slice form or greased slice tin tray.
  7. Refrigerate overnight, or until set.
  8. Remove rocky road from fridge and container and chop roughly into pieces.
  9. Don’t share – this is too good for anyone else.
